National Hate Crime Awareness Week

National Hate Crime Awareness Week is a week of action to raise awareness of hate crime and will take place from 9 to 16 October 2021. 

What is hate crime?

A hate crime is any incident which the victim, or anyone else, thinks is based on someone's prejudice towards them because of their race, religion, sexual orientation, disability or because they are transgender.

Types of hate crime include:

  • race and religious hate crime
  • homophobic and transphobic hate crime
  • disability hate crime
  • crimes against older people.

Reporting hate crime

If you are a victim of hate crime, you can report it to the correct authorities. You can also report a hate crime if it wasn't directed at you, for example for a friend, colleague, neighbour, passer-by or family member.

You can report a hate crime:

  • by calling 999 and reporting directly to the police if the incident is an emergency
  • by calling 101 and reporting to the police if the incident is not an emergency
  • online via the Crimestoppers website or by calling 0800 555 111 if you want to remain anonymous
  • on the True Vision website.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email


Print this page